The Pineapple Thief

The Pineapple Thief was formed in 1999 by founder and chief songwriter Bruce Soord. The band has steadily evolved and refined its sound with the bass playing of Jon Sykes and the production and keyboards of Steve Kitch. Vital ingredients of the unmistakable TPT sound.

The Pineapple Thief has emerged as one of the most exciting live progressive rock acts on the circuit and a force to be reckoned with. Prog Magazine described the show as “a dynamic, dramatic experience” while Manchester Rocks commented that it’s “The Pineapple Thief, like you’ve never heard them before”.

“We can't wait to play Starmus!” explains bandleader Bruce Soord. “Personally, I'm really excited. Our bass player Jon Sykes was recently over in the USA working with NASA on the James Webb Space Telescope so I know he’s really excited to play too.”

The band will see the return of Daniel Osborne on drums and Darran Charles (Godsticks) on guitar. As anyone who witnessed their shows earlier this year will attest, this flexible new line-up has allowed Bruce, Steve and Jon to expand upon their signature sound, enabling the band to truly shine on stage.

Your Wilderness is the 11th studio album from The Pineapple Thief. For the first time, the band brought in several special guest performers: Gavin Harrison (Porcupine Tree) contributed drums throughout the album, John Helliwell (Supertramp) some beautiful clarinet parts, and Geoffrey Richardson (Caravan) provided a string quartet. They were also joined by a 4-piece choir and to cap it all off, Darran Charles (Godsticks) added some jaw dropping guitar playing.